I’m Black, So I’m Kind of a Big Deal in China

I boarded the Bund Sightseeing Tunnel train for a trip over to the land of odd-looking skyscrapers in Pudong. Since I landed in Shanghai a day earlier, I had been ogling the Oriental Pearl TV tower and wanted to see it up close.

After a quick ride, I arrived in Pudong and started snapping pictures of the futuristic-looking skyscraper. Then I felt a tap on my shoulder. I looked down to see a smiling Chinese woman pointing at her husband, who was holding a camera. It was the universal sign for “Hey, let’s take a picture,” so I smiled and put my arm around her. After the photos, she simply gave me a thumbs-up and scurried away.

About five minutes later, the same thing happened with another woman. We didn’t speak the same language, but the look in her eye told me everything I needed to know. She thought I was someone famous. I was black in China. So, obviously, I had to be Beyoncé.

Read more:https://www.yahoo.com/travel/im-black-so-im-kind-of-a-big-deal-in-china-102452030434.html

Leave a Reply

